Sumatra is the sixth largest island in the world located in Indonesia, with an area of 473,481 km². The island’s population is around 57,940,351 (2018 census). This island is also known by other names, namely Pulau Percha, Andalas, or Suwarnadwipa (Sanskrit, meaning “island of gold”). Then on the Padang Roco Inscription in 1286, swarnnabhūmi (Sanskrit, meaning “land of gold”) and bhūmi mālayu (“Land of Malay”) were carved to refer to this island. Furthermore, in the Negarakertagama manuscript from the 14th century, it also mentions “Bumi Malayu” (Malay) for this island.